• Welcome to Crohn's Forum, a support group for people with all forms of IBD. While this community is not a substitute for doctor's advice and we cannot treat or diagnose, we find being able to communicate with others who have IBD is invaluable as we navigate our struggles and celebrate our successes. We invite you to join us.

My Story

Hello, my name is Nicole and I'm 21. When I was younger I always had severe joint pains, mostly in my hips, that would come and go for weeks at a time. When I was in 7th grade (12 years old) the pains got worse as I started playing sports, and I began having digestive problems. My pediatritian thought it was just arthritis and the stomach problems were from the pain meds I had been taking. After many doctors and many, many tests within the same year my gastroenterologist decided to do an endoscopy/colonoscopy. The biopsy results came back 50/50 Crohn's disease- Ulcerative colitis, however I have been mainly treated for Crohn's due to the location of my disease.

After I found out I avoided the foods I couldn't handle, took my meds faithfully and thought all would be well. Until 9th grade when I got mono, which then caused a flare up. I did the whole steroid-chipmunk cheek deal, which sucked in a school full of equally awkward teenagers. I got over that dilemma and didn't have a serious flare up like that for the rest of high school. That's not to say I didn't struggle with my disease day in and day out, but for the most part it was manageable. My first year of college I stayed pretty healthy but my second year I transferred schools, moved into a house with a bunch of friends and partied with the rugby team like I didn't have a care in the world. That was dumb. Two days before I was supposed to go back for my second semester I went into the hospital. I had gotten mono again and my liver was just about to give up.