• Welcome to Crohn's Forum, a support group for people with all forms of IBD. While this community is not a substitute for doctor's advice and we cannot treat or diagnose, we find being able to communicate with others who have IBD is invaluable as we navigate our struggles and celebrate our successes. We invite you to join us.

Need Advice About Explaining to Friends - Please HELP!

Hi! I just joined because my best friend of almost 20 years just doesn't understand what I am going through. I was diagnosed 2 years ago with Crohn's disease. I am a school teacher and we recently went on a field trip from 5:30am to 7:30pm, where it was constant walking except for 4 hours of that time. The next day I spent on my couch, resting, because I extremely exhausted. My friend told me that she believes I needed to rest but after a couple of hours I should have gotten up and 'done something with my life'. She also tells me all the time that I need to eat super healthy foods even if they taste disgusting so that it will help. I have tried to explain things to her but she says I am using my Crohn's as a crutch to sit around being lazy. Does anyone have any advice on how to help her not be so harsh to me about this? I would appreciate any and all comments. Thanks!