• Welcome to Crohn's Forum, a support group for people with all forms of IBD. While this community is not a substitute for doctor's advice and we cannot treat or diagnose, we find being able to communicate with others who have IBD is invaluable as we navigate our struggles and celebrate our successes. We invite you to join us.

Need help

Hey..... im a newbie..... i got dx with crohns back in june and ive had 24 ct scans in the past year. They are afraid of radation cancer. Has anyone else experinced this?

Cristi,
Welcome to the forum. It sounds like you have been through alot if you are having that many scans. Why are you having so many ct. scans? did the doctor chose that over a colonoscopy?
You should not have any more if possible. We had one when we went to the E.R. and our GI immediately mentioned it is not a good idea.

What type of Crohns do you have and how are you doing?

I was dx in june of 2012 at the begining in the 2012 they could find out what was wrong i had my first ten ct scans between jan to march. They finally found crohns and cant get it under control ummm. It is serv. Crohns when i flare up i end up in the hosital through the er and the first thing they do is a ct scan i tell them how many i hav had but the still do them

You have the right to refuse the Ct Scan. Our daughters scans did not show her flare at all.... there are other tests they can run.

This forum has so much information on it. You can read and research and we are here to give you all the support we can.

Do you have a good Gastro-interologist? Have you had stool cultures done? TB test? CBC?

The flares are horrible, I am sorry you have to deal with those all the time. It took a year to get my daughter, age 14 under control.
She was in a lot of pain too.

Have you been on Prednisone? It took 2 long doses of Prednisone, while other medications were taking effect before we found the right combination of medications.