• Welcome to Crohn's Forum, a support group for people with all forms of IBD. While this community is not a substitute for doctor's advice and we cannot treat or diagnose, we find being able to communicate with others who have IBD is invaluable as we navigate our struggles and celebrate our successes. We invite you to join us.

New diagnosis and super confused/scared

I'm brand new to all of this and unsure of lingo so forgive me if any of this is hard to understand.

I was just diagnosed last month after stomach cramps brought me to urgent care on Oct 30th. Urgent care sent me to the ER thinking it was for sure my appendix. ER did blood work and immediately asked if I had ever heard of crohn's. That was the beginning of what has been the worst time of my life.

I was admitted into the hospital to do more testing. A CT scan and a colonoscopy followed over the next four days. I was told the CT scan showed crohn's but that I would need to follow up with the GI doctor to find the results of the colonoscopy. I was started on antibiotics and steroids and sent home. Several days later I had my follow up with my GI. I walk in thinking I was about to officially receive my diagnosis. My doctor informs me that the biopsy came back negative for crohn's and that I needed to start tapering off the steroids and we would need to do more testing to try to figure out what was going on with me. I was in more shock that she was telling me that I didn't have it than if she would've told me that I did.