• Welcome to Crohn's Forum, a support group for people with all forms of IBD. While this community is not a substitute for doctor's advice and we cannot treat or diagnose, we find being able to communicate with others who have IBD is invaluable as we navigate our struggles and celebrate our successes. We invite you to join us.

New GI; not sure how well this is going.

SarahBear

So, I was diagnosed in '08 and put on Prednisone and 6-MP. I later switched to methotrexate because injections are easier for me than pills. The methotrexate helped, but I still had problems fairly often (more than before treatment).

When I graduated high school, I didn't go directly to college, and as a result of that, my dad dropped me from his insurance. I've been untreated for a year and a half or more, and just recently got insurance again.

I saw a GP, who referred me to a GI. She set up a colonoscopy before an appointment - so she had never discussed my disease with me. I was both comforted and confused - comforted because I took it to mean she wanted to get things done quickly, and confused because my Crohn's is in my small intestine. A colonoscopy probably needs to be done from time to time, but I didn't understand why it was the first thing she wanted to do. When they called to set up the appointment, I told them this and they said, "This is just the first step." So I assumed there was a reason for doing the colonoscopy first. They also asked who my previous GI had been, so I figured they were getting my medical records. The GP had also asked, so I had originally expected that information to be sent over with the referral.