• Welcome to Crohn's Forum, a support group for people with all forms of IBD. While this community is not a substitute for doctor's advice and we cannot treat or diagnose, we find being able to communicate with others who have IBD is invaluable as we navigate our struggles and celebrate our successes. We invite you to join us.

New Member Here

Well hello, my name is jess, from Grand Rapids Michigan, I was diagnosed when I was 11, I was on medications for most of my childhood until I graduated and unfortunately just kept putting off getting into an adult GI doctor and so pretty much just quit all my medications once I ran out of refills. For a couple years I was absolutely fine, started a job at a fast food chain, never missed a day of work for three years, always full of energy and got suckered into overtime, got a promotion and have been working my butt off.

Now I'm 21 and I'm not nearly as bad as I was when I was first diagnosed but it's getting to a point where I can't ignore my body and I have to start taking responsibility for my health. So these days I'm not exactly getting constant stomach pains or vomiting my meals. I just simply am not very hungry. I eat once or twice a day in very small portions otherwise I bloat up and become uncomfortable. In the past month I've also started getting some pretty annoying joint and such pain. Usually It's either in my hands or hips/legs and am actually in the process of figuring that out.

So if you're near the area, have any kind of advise for dealing with missed work and emotional well being throughout this, or just a common story then I'd love to hear from you.

Welcome. I am not near the area. Are you back on medication? You might consider going to see a rheumatologist for the pain you are describing. You said that you eat once or twice a day in small portions. Shortly after my resection, my GI recommended eating smaller meals more often. Just a memory that was brought up. Wishing you the best.