• Welcome to Crohn's Forum, a support group for people with all forms of IBD. While this community is not a substitute for doctor's advice and we cannot treat or diagnose, we find being able to communicate with others who have IBD is invaluable as we navigate our struggles and celebrate our successes. We invite you to join us.

New Member whose battling denial with Crohn's

Hello all!

This is my first time ever posting on the Crohn's Forum. I was diagnosed with Crohn's disease in the summer of 2012. I was on Remicade from 2012-2014 and Humira from 2015-2016. I stopped taking Remicade because it was inconvenient as I was a college student away from home and I had to come home every 8 weeks for my medication. Eventually I just thought I could go without my medication. Then I suffered a flare up and went on Humira. I was on Humira for a year straight and then I was without health insurance for 3 months and during that time I went off Humira. I have been off Humira for almost a year now and once again I am suffering a flare up... I went to my third gastroenterologist, since 2012, today and he told me I had to get my act together otherwise surgery would be in my future. This doctor was blunt and scary but I honestly believe he's the right doctor for me! I need someone who will tell me the negative consequences if I don't take my condition seriously because I have a history of not taking it seriously. Part of me is in denial that I have this disease. I was an all-conference hockey player in high school and played one year of college hockey. I view having a disease as being "weak" and I know that's silly and stupid but thats honestly how I feel most of the time. I know I look and feel a lot healthier physically and mentally when I am constantly taking my medication. So I have a colonoscopy coming up next Friday and I am most likely going to be put back on Humira. Only this time I have a goal of not getting off it without my doctor's consent. I also have the goal of taking