• Welcome to Crohn's Forum, a support group for people with all forms of IBD. While this community is not a substitute for doctor's advice and we cannot treat or diagnose, we find being able to communicate with others who have IBD is invaluable as we navigate our struggles and celebrate our successes. We invite you to join us.

New to Crohns - Any tips?

Hey im new to crohns, i was diagnosed April of last year when i was 17.
I had a severe case and did not respond well to the medications i was put on. I am now taking fortnightly Humira injections, mercaptopurine and pred.
Basicallllyyy im struggling a bit with the whole idea of having a disease so young. Its consuming my whole lifestyle.
It feels like im obsessed and i cant think about anything else.
I was just wondering if you guys could offer any tips on ways to deal with the disease emotionally and good ways to deal with the day to day side effects of crohns.
I will be eternally grateful for any helpppp that can be offered :p
Thankyouuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuu :)

CrohnsChicago

Super Moderator
Im sorry you received a diagnosis and at a young age :(

Well for starters the fact that you are doing treatment is a good first step in getting yourself in a healthier state of being.

My biggest recommendation would be not to let the disease control your life. You can still have goals and ambitions. And while some may need to be adjusted a little, others do not. It is very possible to live a long and active life with crohn's disease, especially once you manage to get it all under control.