• Welcome to Crohn's Forum, a support group for people with all forms of IBD. While this community is not a substitute for doctor's advice and we cannot treat or diagnose, we find being able to communicate with others who have IBD is invaluable as we navigate our struggles and celebrate our successes. We invite you to join us.

New to forums/My story

Hi. This is my first time posting on a any type of forum though I have looked on this forum since being diagnosed with Crohn's Disease. I was diagnosed with Crohn's Disease in 2010 at the age of 23. I began to have symptoms my junior year of college. I was having frequent diarrhea and occasional bloody stools. I went to my PCP regarding the issue of bloody stools. He did not do a rectal exam or take stool sample and I was told that it was could be hemorrhoids even though I was pretty certain that was not the case.

I continued to have diarrhea throughout the rest of my college career with occasional bloody stools. I never went back to the doctor regarding this issue because I felt stupid after going the first time and also because many people in my extended family have IBS so I assumed that was what was causing my symptoms.