• Welcome to Crohn's Forum, a support group for people with all forms of IBD. While this community is not a substitute for doctor's advice and we cannot treat or diagnose, we find being able to communicate with others who have IBD is invaluable as we navigate our struggles and celebrate our successes. We invite you to join us.

New to here. id really appreciate some Crohn's advice please

Hi, im new to this and im probably a sceptic as i know this is for support and not diagnosis. I have been diagnosed with Crohn's colitis for 3 years now I'm 24 and I've recently come to the conclusion I'm struggling by and now im struggling to mitigate my current symptoms into a normal 24year olds life. I need to take some positive action. I suffer from around 7 to 30 toilet trips a day, have left side burning and twisting pains and lots of blood in my stools alongside fatigue, rectal pain and swelling and other normal Crohn's symptoms that vary. I Had a few relatively high cal tests which didnt really worry me but recently life has been progressively worse. I recently Had a cal protecting test which came back at 5773.I know this is relatively high and it does reflect how I physically feel. I dont have to worry as much now because I've been in hospital with steriods so things should get better although no long term medication has worked as yet. I just wondered if anyone else had similar readings? And if so what does it mean? What did you're doctor tell you to do? What meds do you take? (As all meds so far have not worked accept predisolone) I'd also like to ask if anyone had any dietary advice for me? Any advice would be much appreciated, I want to put my mind at rest more than anything and possibly meet people going through similar. I want to move forward in life and to be a normal 24yo again :). Many thanks in return.

Last edited: