• Welcome to Crohn's Forum, a support group for people with all forms of IBD. While this community is not a substitute for doctor's advice and we cannot treat or diagnose, we find being able to communicate with others who have IBD is invaluable as we navigate our struggles and celebrate our successes. We invite you to join us.

New to the site.

T

Trevor

Hello,

My name is Trevor. I am 31 years of age, and i am a solicitor living in Birmingham.
I have Crohns disease, and currently take pentassa and prednisolone.

I am extremely pleased to have come across this site, as i have not yet met anyone who has shared my experiences with my health situations.

I am due to go on my holidays to Florida this coming weekend, and would be very greatful of any advice in coping whilst travelling.

Thankyou in advance.

Trev.

mikeyarmo

Co-Founder
Hey Trevor, welcome to the community! We are also very pleased that you found us, and would be more than happy to help you with your questions.

Perhaps you can first tell us some symptons you suffer from, so we know what type of advice is best for you. Some general things I can think of now though are:

Make sure you always have some sort of snack with you (crackers or something) in case you cannot find food that you are able to eat. Also make sure you carry your medication with you always, so you do not forget to take it. Make sure to not eat anything adventerous on the airplane, as that is not a good place to be when your stomach is acting up. I highly recommend brigning your own food if possible to eat on the plane. Also just try and listen to your body throughout the trip. If you are starting to feel a bit tired, than it is best to just rest for a bit. Make sure you get a good amount of sleep, so that you can fully enjoy your holidays. It is better to sleep an extra hour each day of a vacation and be healthy then be rushing an extra hour each day around and feeling awful.

T

Trevor

Hello Mikeyarmo,