• Welcome to Crohn's Forum, a support group for people with all forms of IBD. While this community is not a substitute for doctor's advice and we cannot treat or diagnose, we find being able to communicate with others who have IBD is invaluable as we navigate our struggles and celebrate our successes. We invite you to join us.

New to this disease

Hi everyone.
I am pretty new to this whole thing. new to using forums, new to reading blogs, and especially new to Crohns disease. I guess you can say I am a newborn. I was diagnosed in May.
In fact, my symptoms started the day after mothers day. I was beside myself with pain in my abdomen and directly in my naval area. I waited until Wednesday, thinking it was a stomach bug. My mother insisted I go to the walk in ER. So I did. The NP came in and said you have 2 choices, I call you an ambulance or you get a ride to Ri Hospital because I think you may have appendicitis. Which that in itself is scary. I chose option 2, and spent a good 5 hours at the hospital. a hefty dose of morphine and a catscan later, no appendicitis and some inflammation in my terminal ileum. I saw my GI doc 2 days after and the next day he had me in a colonosopy. When I woke up, I got the news. Crohns. Great. Everything seemed to happen so fast. Next thing I know I am on prednisone, Tramadol, and a bunch of vitamins, We havent figured out a long term med for me yet. I have other issues as well. Im anemic and I have thalassimea minor. My Gi doc is having me see another GI in his practice who specializes in Crohns. Im in pretty good hands.
I'm usually one who obsessively researches a topic until I cant find any new info on it, which is how I found you all. I even joined the Take Steps walk on the CCFA.org website. I;m pretty scared, as this is all new to me. So you might see me pop up in threads and maybe post my own stuff. Bare with me. Hopefully you all can teach me a thing or two. Anyhow, Nice to meet you all.

Hi there! Welcome to the forum.