• Welcome to Crohn's Forum, a support group for people with all forms of IBD. While this community is not a substitute for doctor's advice and we cannot treat or diagnose, we find being able to communicate with others who have IBD is invaluable as we navigate our struggles and celebrate our successes. We invite you to join us.

New to this....

Hello All,
I am new to this and don't really know what to say. I was just diagnosed with Crohns but I guess I don't really believe it because I feel better, or should say...come to terms with it. I didn't feel good last month or honestly for the last 10 years, but I got so used to living my life around where a bathroom was, driving alone so I can stop if I needed to and making jokes about myself so that even when it was embarrassing because I had to excuse myself 3 times in the same dinner with friends, people would laugh with me...not at me (if that makes sense). After bleeding for months, I figured I better get checked out because hemorrhoids shouldn't last that long.

The doctor said that the condition I am in is not good. I need to not take it so lightly. That I am pretty damaged. I am trying so hard to be good with my food intake but its hard because I am hungry!!!...lost 6 pounds in a couple days....so I started eating again and I hurt but I am not hungry anymore (that's the trade off) and I hurt for 10 years on and off...so it doesn't seem that bad because I am used to it. And I know I am nothing like some of the people on here who have really bad issues but I did have my issues. I was a regular in the bathroom..at least 15-20 times a day...2 of which would wake me up at night for months (I should say a minimum of 2 times). So its not like I was just dealing with a tummy ache. So I am down from 20 to 6 or 7.....awesomesauce in my book!!!

I guess I am trying to figure out how to be better at eating better when I am okay with not feeling well. Feeling like crap (pun intended) has become my norm.