• Welcome to Crohn's Forum, a support group for people with all forms of IBD. While this community is not a substitute for doctor's advice and we cannot treat or diagnose, we find being able to communicate with others who have IBD is invaluable as we navigate our struggles and celebrate our successes. We invite you to join us.

Newbie-16 yr old diagnosed

Hello,im a newbie here and a parent of a 16 yr old daughter just diagnosed with crohns and boy what a bunch of information to take in.she's on 20 mg of prednisone,and i believe the dr is going to start her on the pantesa but we will discuss that at the follow up visit. she advised us what foods to avoid during the flare up but im so worried im giving her stuff that could aggravate it,im wondering if baked or poached chicken is ok as well as white bread,rice and fruit cups,i know as long as she's handling it well it should be ok but im so worried im going to make it worse,so far she's eaten and has not had pain. the hardest thing is going to be at school and lunch. what would be an ideal lunch suggestion? and any other tips or info is greatly appreciated.

SarahBear

Welcome to the forum, deb! I'm sorry to hear what your daughter (and you!) have been dealing with. :(

I suggest you check out our Parents of Kids with IBD section (you can follow that link directly to it) where you can talk to others in similar situations to yours.