• Welcome to Crohn's Forum, a support group for people with all forms of IBD. While this community is not a substitute for doctor's advice and we cannot treat or diagnose, we find being able to communicate with others who have IBD is invaluable as we navigate our struggles and celebrate our successes. We invite you to join us.

Newbie- how to convince people that I'm sick

Hello All,

I'm totally new to this and having issues just managing what I had as a lifestyle and what I now have as a lifestyle. I am/was a World Cup ski coach and am now stepping down from that responsibility. In part because my diagnosis doesn't allow me to plan properly for the protection and responsibility for my athletes to travel at 130km an hour with the limited resources available to me (we are a small team). Also, I cannot have my athletes in danger because I'm not focused, this disease could be painful for me but it could cost them their life. The prednisone is killer for insomnia, bruising, and sweats (you freeze when you sweat) which doesn't help the situation I'm in. On the side, the high stress, pressure, travel, and high altitude training (14,000ft) has proven to be too demanding while I have this first flare up. I'm in Europe now and my hemoglobin count is still a little low and it's much harder to adapt to the thin air than it should be. But anyway...

So now I have other career choices to make although I'm sure I'll always be involved in skiing. My major issue though is how alienating this disease is. Do people ever really 'get' it? Is there any good way not to shake them in frustration? Some friends get it. Most don't. Oddly, my work colleagues are good with this and understand my decision because they know what my job takes. They wish me well and want to keep me involved on some level. However, does anyone have a good idea how to explain to their family why you've given up a successful career path because they can't SEE that you're really that sick? Jeez.

DJW

Forum Monitor