• Welcome to Crohn's Forum, a support group for people with all forms of IBD. While this community is not a substitute for doctor's advice and we cannot treat or diagnose, we find being able to communicate with others who have IBD is invaluable as we navigate our struggles and celebrate our successes. We invite you to join us.

Newbie - My Experiences w/ CD

Hi everyone! Thanks for taking the time to read my post :)

My name is Lauren and I was finally diagnosed with CD in April 2011. I worked as a pharmacy technician for 7 years before "retiring" in January. I am a full-time pre-med student at the University of Central FL, work occasionally as a medical assistant, volunteer at my local hospital, and I am working on a Crohns-based observation study with my GI. Now that you know a little about me, here's my story:

I started having severe symptoms starting in May/June 2011, living on Phenergan and Vicoprofen for severe abdominal pain. I ended up in the ER several times - all they did was run tests, give me Dilaudid and sent me home, blaming it on a previous history of ovarian cysts. I knew the pain was bowel related and I saw a GI who told me it was probably constipation and to take some laxatives. (I knew better! lol) Luckily, my OBGYN who knew the pain wasn't GYN related said she was going to find the problem if no one else would, and performed a laparoscopy Sept 2010. My appendix was inflamed and abnormal, and the general surgeon who came in to remove it diagnosed me with "chronic appendicitis" when pathology came back with bacteria present. I was obviously skeptical, but once the incision healed I really didn't have anymore pain so I thought I was cured.