• Welcome to Crohn's Forum, a support group for people with all forms of IBD. While this community is not a substitute for doctor's advice and we cannot treat or diagnose, we find being able to communicate with others who have IBD is invaluable as we navigate our struggles and celebrate our successes. We invite you to join us.

Newbie w/ mild crohn's + fistula

Hi everybody,
I've been checking out the forum for a day or so & finally decided to register and post 'my story'...but before I get to that I just want to say thank you to all of you for sharing your stories, tips, advice, support etc... It means so much - you may not realize. I can't stress enough how important it is to have a place like this for practical and emotional support.

I'm a 34-year old woman and I have been battling 'stomach issues' for most of my life but was previously diagnosed with IBS until I got an abscess (which is now a fistula in ano). Most recently, the tests I had done were upper and lower scope (colonoscopy) with biopsies, barium enema, and pelvic MRI. The scope showed only very minor inflammation at the terminal ileum and some inflammation in my stomach as well. The fistula showed up on the MRI which is what 'sealed the deal' for my crohn's diagnosis about 2 weeks ago.

The fistula drained itself about 4 months ago when I was on a short course of strong antibiotics... Then I had 4 months of the fistula being 'gone' which lead my GI doc to guess that maybe it had healed itself(!). Of course I still had nauseau and an upset stomach here and there over those 4 months but I've been dealing with that for the past decade so it wasn't a big deal.

Then, less than a week ago I felt the fistula returning. I had a supply of antibiotics left, so began taking them and felt relief pretty quickly. I'm going to continue taking the antibiotics for a total of 10 days even though my swelling has gone down - but this reappearance of the fistula has got me feeling really down and worried...