• Welcome to Crohn's Forum, a support group for people with all forms of IBD. While this community is not a substitute for doctor's advice and we cannot treat or diagnose, we find being able to communicate with others who have IBD is invaluable as we navigate our struggles and celebrate our successes. We invite you to join us.

Newly Diagnosed and no relief from medications

Hi Everyone,

I was diagnosed with Crohn's in December 2015 after a routine colonoscopy. I had NO idea I had this disease!

Looking back, I have had symptoms for 20-30 years!

Since diagnosis, I have had no relief from either prednisone or Humira. My GI seemed to think that Humira would be the "end all, miracle" to make me feel better. But nothing has changed!!!

I go see my GI next week, and am really worried about what is next!!

Thanks for any/all advice I can get!

Hi. I am sorry you aren't getting any relief so far from the medicines. Your doctor may want to switch the biologic you are on.

I am new to this as well, being diagnosed in Nov. I am starting Humira next month. It is my belief that it can take up to a couple of months to really work. But there are others on the board that have more experience than I do. I have been on Entocort since Dec. however that is not a long term solution for me- it's to "put the fire out" is what they told me. Good luck.

Hi CheriW - Ron is on the right track here that the best next step is probably having a conversation with your doctor to discuss alternative treatment options. Up until your next appointment, be sure to be writing down your symptoms as they occur as well as any other questions and concerns you have so you can address them in your appointment. Asking questions and speaking up about any side effects you are having is critical to finding the right treatment course for you.