• Welcome to Crohn's Forum, a support group for people with all forms of IBD. While this community is not a substitute for doctor's advice and we cannot treat or diagnose, we find being able to communicate with others who have IBD is invaluable as we navigate our struggles and celebrate our successes. We invite you to join us.

Newly Diagnosed Crohn's - unusual symptoms

Hi Everyone,

I'm a newbie and pretty nervous about posting on a forum but i'm at my witts end with the level of care i'm receiving and i'm in need of some advice.

I have been experiencing bowel problems for many many years. These symptoms include, blood, diarrhea, mucus and unfortunately never for as long as i can remember (8-10 years) a period of normal toileting habits.

I have also over the last possibly 5 years, been experiencing, changes in my voice, hoarseness aching throat and face, difficulty swallowing. Many bouts of tonsillitis, pharyngitis, strep throat and ulcers - i am a singer and this is affecting my career very much.

As well as those symptoms i regularly have swollen gums and face, red eye (which i was told was dry eye) and swollen eyelids/nose on an almost every 2 weeks and dry cracks in the corners of my mouth, Regularly swollen lymph nodes as well as large cystic lesions on my face (cutaneous crohns is currently being investigated as a previous biopsy showed granulomous ((unsure of spelling))

When i had my Colonoscopy i my results showed small apthous ulcers in terminal ileum (mild active ilietis) and widespread granulomatous inflammation throughout the colon.

From my understanding is that it is relatively mild? but my symptoms certainly aren't mild.

I have also been on a course of doxycycline and rifampicin which after 3 days i began vomiting blood. My dermatologist has suggested this may be due to ulcers in my stomach.

My questions are:

Should i have the throat and vocal symptoms checked and if so, how do i request that?