• Welcome to Crohn's Forum, a support group for people with all forms of IBD. While this community is not a substitute for doctor's advice and we cannot treat or diagnose, we find being able to communicate with others who have IBD is invaluable as we navigate our struggles and celebrate our successes. We invite you to join us.

Newly diagnosed & overwhelmed would love some advice.

Hi I'm new to this site & new to Crohns Disease! Quick story...I'm a 30 year old mother of 2, son 2 1/2 , daughter 7months. I was diagnosed Oct 2013 shortly after baby #2. Never had symptoms until then, extreme pain in abd., hospitalized 2x bc of it , ran the usual IBD tests, pos. for CD. I have been extremely healthy all of my life , always exercised, never overweight, always been able to eat anything & everything! So this is a huge shock for me! I'm a nurse on a cardiac unit in a hospital so I have seen only the sickest of sick CD patients & this scares me for my future. I would like some advice on some definite foods to avoid. I know everybody's triggers are different but is there a list of common foods not to eat? Also maybe signs a flare up is coming? I do get nose sores like a couple days in advance of extreme abdominal pain, so I'm assuming that May be one of my indications. Also meds, I'm taking Entocort as of right now but my physician wants to switch to azathioprine. Opinions? & should I be taking vitamins & if so recommendations? My physician did discuss this but I want advice from real people living this!!! Thank you so much!! Excited to b a part of this forum!!

SarahBear

Welcome to the forum, Ashley!