• Welcome to Crohn's Forum, a support group for people with all forms of IBD. While this community is not a substitute for doctor's advice and we cannot treat or diagnose, we find being able to communicate with others who have IBD is invaluable as we navigate our struggles and celebrate our successes. We invite you to join us.

Not alone

Hello! I have been reading this site for a couple of weeks and finally joined today. I am new to this with only a diagnosis a month ago after a year of pain etc and a diagnosis of a *simple* ulcer and treatment for that. I landed in the ER the day after my hubby shipped to Kandahar and with quick x-rays, tests, CT and 2 weeks later the GI series, I have a diagnosis and actually welcomed it, but now I am not so welcoming as many issues are quickly arising and I have been switched on so many diff meds (hundreds of dollars go unused upstairs!). Currently on the pentasa (4 g) and predisone (40mg) for at least three weeks and have a consult with a surgeon for already present and quickly massing problems.

I am finding it hard daily as I don't know what's coming next and from all the reading I am doing, I think that might be about right. This seems like such a wild and strange disease that is always changing directions. I am also the type of person who functions so much better with information and organization. I really appreciate the personal information that I have found on here esp when I am looking for insight into the meds/side effects, or just someone who had a day like me at some time. It makes you feel more normal - esp as this comes as a new thing to my family and no one really understands it. I do have a great GI already but so much is up in the air that it's hard to know what to do day to day.

I just wanted to say hi I guess and thank everyone for being here and sharing stories as they help us *newbies* in more ways than I think you know!

hi & welcome keara :)