• Welcome to Crohn's Forum, a support group for people with all forms of IBD. While this community is not a substitute for doctor's advice and we cannot treat or diagnose, we find being able to communicate with others who have IBD is invaluable as we navigate our struggles and celebrate our successes. We invite you to join us.

One More Test--Insurance Worries

My Dr. is 99.9% sure that I have Crohn's based off of my most recent colonoscopy. My doctor is holding off of official diagnosis until my MR Enterography. He said that his hesitation is because of potential insurance issues. I am scheduled for the test next week, but he suggested signing up for disability/ life insurance before the full diagnosis. This has made me very worried. I'm 28, and I hope to have a family in the next five years. He wasn't very specific (he acknowledged that insurance stuff is up in the air), but now I'm paranoid. I'm a teacher, and my issues are mild enough that I can handle everything (and I have health insurance), but I'm really worried about life and disability insurance. Anyone have any info/suggestions on potential insurance issues (I live in NJ if that makes a difference)?

Angrybird

Hello and welcome the forum :)

I am afraid I cannot help with your query about the insurance as I don't have knowledge of the process 'over there', I am confused by what the doc has said though considering you do have insurance. Someone should soon come along who may be able to assist with this but please keep us updated on how things go.

AB
xx

I am no expert on life insurance, but I believe that life insurance rates would be higher for those suffering with Crohns, despite it not being a life-threatening disease. I am not sure about this however. I have a life insurance policy that my husband and I took out about 10 years ago. My Crohns was already diagnosed but I had had no surgeries. The policy was not very expensive, and it has remained pretty reasonable.