• Welcome to Crohn's Forum, a support group for people with all forms of IBD. While this community is not a substitute for doctor's advice and we cannot treat or diagnose, we find being able to communicate with others who have IBD is invaluable as we navigate our struggles and celebrate our successes. We invite you to join us.

Overdue introduction

Well...as my daughter is fond of saying...time to stop being a "creeper" and give you my story. I'm not very good at things like this so please put up with me. I was diagnosed with Crohn's Disease in May 2013 and here's a summary of how I got to where I am today:

In Feb 2013 I was sick as I had not been before. After 2 days of major stomach pain and nausea I started to feel better but not great. Thought I had a bad case of flu/food poisoning. After several weeks of limping along I finally went to see a doctor. After blood tests and ultrasounds it was determined I had ovarian cysts and fibroid tumors and "free floating fluid" in my abdomen. Several more Dr. visits and tests...they decided to do surgery to reduce the cysts. About a week before said surgery I ended up in the ER with yet more pain and what was thought to be a bad appendix.

I woke up after surgery minus a healthy appendix and a lovely drain in place to drain an abscess. (Remember the "free floating fluid" never investigated?? ) Diagnosed with diverticulitis, several more ultrasounds, CT and CTE scans, Colonoscopy, X-rays and probably more tests I have forgotten about and moderate to severe Crohn's Disease was the official diagnosis.

Treatment tried:
*Entocort - Was I in for a price shock when I picked it up at the pharmacy and then it didn't work :eek2:
*4 months of Prednisone - my body really liked this, what a treat that was and so not worth the much needed shot of energy

Currently meds:
*Azathioprine 150 mgs daily
*Ranitadine 150mgs daily
*Omeprazole 20 mgs daily (yep, heartburn and stomach acid are good friends of mine)