• Welcome to Crohn's Forum, a support group for people with all forms of IBD. While this community is not a substitute for doctor's advice and we cannot treat or diagnose, we find being able to communicate with others who have IBD is invaluable as we navigate our struggles and celebrate our successes. We invite you to join us.

Prednisone Imuran and Remicade

M

mikeplatt8

Hello this is my first time posting a message on this site. My name is mike and I have been diagnosed with UC/Crohns about this time last year. I have been on Asacol, Colazol which never really did the trick. Always on prednisone though, but recently I started on Imuran which was about two months ago and have had 5 previous remicade treatments. I can't get myslef off of the prednisone and recently have had a flar when I decreased from 30mg to 25mg, now I am back up to 40mg. How much hope do I have that Imuran will kick in and help and maybe it will help with the remicade, I just can't believe remicade is not working. My next step is either surgery or some clinical trials if I apply to any. Well my GI said to keep praying.....

mikeyarmo

Co-Founder
Hi Mike!

If you do not mind I will move this thread over to the your story area. This is where most people post their experience with IBD.

There is no reason not to believe that the Imuran will not kick in. It can take a few months to work, so just keep hoping for the best. A lot of people on here have had to try many different drugs to find what works for them, so you are not alone.

No matter what happens remember THIS WILL NOT RUIN YOUR LIFE! I, as well as many others her have had surgery (some multiple). Others have never needed it. No matter what has happened to us, we all have been able to continue living our lives and get past whatever we have been through. Glad that you found us and please feel free to ask any questions here or look for any support you need.

J

Jonny

Hi Mike :welcome: to the site.