• Welcome to Crohn's Forum, a support group for people with all forms of IBD. While this community is not a substitute for doctor's advice and we cannot treat or diagnose, we find being able to communicate with others who have IBD is invaluable as we navigate our struggles and celebrate our successes. We invite you to join us.

Probiotics.................

its says to ferment it for 3 weeks to a month, that's seem like a long time. It's hard to imagine it would resemble cabbage after this amount of time, ha. but i've never done this before nor i'm a sure i can trust this source of information.

its says to ferment it for 3 weeks to a month, that's seem like a long time. It's hard to imagine it would resemble cabbage after this amount of time, ha. but i've never done this before nor i'm a sure i can trust this source of information.
Maybe that's why mine failed lol. I fermented about a week, then it sat in the fridge for over a month.

It's not that scientific, when it is to your taste (and that assumes 'sour' is to your taste) it's done....
Main reason it might fail would be not being underwater and getting contaminated with aerobic bacteria.
I make mine the way i like it,
Not shredded too finely and left for about two weeks so it is still pretty crisp (fine shredding gives a softer kraut), and then it still matures slowly once it is in the fridge.
I use cabbage, carrot, celery, turmeric, ginger, garlic and chilli, but almost anything is ok (didn't like capsicum, very slimy)

"the minimum time is about three days, though the kraut will continue to ferment and become tastier for many days after that. As simple as it sounds, the best rule of thumb is to keep tasting the kraut and refrigerate (or take it cellar temperature) when it tastes good to you. "
http://www.thekitchn.com/how-to-mak...on-jar-cooking-lessons-from-the-kitchn-193124

Three weeks would definitely be a softer mushier kraut, but that's how most of the world likes it?