• Welcome to Crohn's Forum, a support group for people with all forms of IBD. While this community is not a substitute for doctor's advice and we cannot treat or diagnose, we find being able to communicate with others who have IBD is invaluable as we navigate our struggles and celebrate our successes. We invite you to join us.

Proctectomy surgery

Hi I've got my proctectomy op scheduled for may 2nd next year eek not long. He said I'll probs spend 3-4 days in hospital and a month off work. Which I'm wary about coz I work in a shop so not sure what I will be not be able to do/do. I'm so scared but he said I shouldn't have any probs with healing..

Hello Cheerbear12 I hope your surgery goes well and you feel great in no time.

Please Let us know how it goes! And BTW I expect my next surgery to involve my rectum :D

Best wishes! :hug:

Hi Cheerbear. Do you mean that you don't know whether they will give you the time off work for wound to heal? Or what you will be able to do (or not do) once you return to work?

It's good that you have been told that you shouldn't have any problems healing.

I had my proctocolectomy in 2000 and it made an enormous improvement in my life, so don't be scared. Ask any questions that you want as there are lots of us here who have had the same op. :hug:

Thanks forever crohns and I will keep you posted and Susan2 they'll give me time off but not sure what I'll be able to do/not do. I don't want to do too much and cause more pain than what I'll already be in. Thank you to you both

You'll have to take it very quietly to start with (no boot scootin', water slidin', bob sleddin' :ybiggrin:) and gradually increase what you do in response to how well and how quickly you heal. Gentle walking for short distances is good to begin with - I needed a stick early on, but I did have a large amount of not-so-good flesh removed. But as it heals you will be able to judge what you should and shouldn't do.