• Welcome to Crohn's Forum, a support group for people with all forms of IBD. While this community is not a substitute for doctor's advice and we cannot treat or diagnose, we find being able to communicate with others who have IBD is invaluable as we navigate our struggles and celebrate our successes. We invite you to join us.

Question on temp ileostomy reversal

Hello!

My daughter has a temporary ileostomy due to her colon being perforated during a colonoscopy. She has had the temp ileostomy since June, and will have it reversed sometime this year. Does anyone here have experience on the recovery time, and what to expect after the reversal??

Thanks for any information you can give me!

I have no experience, or advice. But I wanted to welcome you to the forum. I know someone will be along soon who can help answer your questions. You will find lots of support, and information here. Good luck, I hope she can have the reversal soon. (((((hugs))))))

Hi I also have an ileostomy which was done back in 2011. They took out the entire colon but left the rectum in case of a reverse as well. Usually it would take a min of 6 wks to heal and can go up to 8 wks just because you have to learn how to "use" the toilet again. I don't mean to scare you or anything but I have heard that reversing an ileostomy can cause complications in certain circumstances but I would def talk to the doctor to see if it will be ok, which I'm sure it will be. But I wish you and your daughter the best of luck! God bless and never give up :):)

David,

She has her colon and everything else intact. They just did the temp ileostomy to let her colon rest and heal, and also because it was perforated during the colonoscopy. I have not heard of the healing time being that long for this procedure. Also, it was done laproscopically.

DustyKat

Super Moderator
Hey mugsymagoos,

Both of my children have had resections but no stoma. I will tag Crohn's Mom into this as her daughter had a reversal done.