• Welcome to Crohn's Forum, a support group for people with all forms of IBD. While this community is not a substitute for doctor's advice and we cannot treat or diagnose, we find being able to communicate with others who have IBD is invaluable as we navigate our struggles and celebrate our successes. We invite you to join us.

Ready to fight these battles and win the war!

So I was diagnosed with a severe case of ulcerative colitis end of summer 2015. 2 week hospital stay complete with steroids, remicade and inadequate hospital foods. The second my inflammation decreased I booked it out of there to continue my own fight and research with this disease. Keep in mind I am a medical student who supports modern healthcare, but my experience of being a patient in this system has opened my eyes to it's flaws. Treating symptoms and healing them are not the same thing.

Once I tapered off the Roids and horrible symptoms of Remicade, I began taking
Supplements: Chromium, b12, iron, Vit C, Vit D, adult multivitamins
Drinking: More water, Aloe vera, Slippery Elm bark tea, Green matcha tea, Licorice root tea, Probiotics, Carrot/veggie juice
Consuming: Bone broth( homemade), gelatin, salmon, kimichi, keffir, probiotic yogurt, kombucha, fruits, vegetables

EVERY DAY!

Most importantly I have now become an advocate for use of medical marijuana! I don't care what the ignorant say.. It helps inflammation tremendously. After doing research on RSO (Rick simpson's oil) which is a concentrated extract of THC/CBD from the plant and consuming the oil since I was released from hospital, I can only promise that it has the most profound benefits of any treatment I've undergone. I'm not a smoker but taking one hit immediately halts my urgency, pain and discomfort. Eating the medicine has longer lasting effects. I'm in the process of getting a green card and using this oil for maintenance. If I didn't have this option during a flare up, I'd definitely have to turn back to pharmaceutical drugs.