• Welcome to Crohn's Forum, a support group for people with all forms of IBD. While this community is not a substitute for doctor's advice and we cannot treat or diagnose, we find being able to communicate with others who have IBD is invaluable as we navigate our struggles and celebrate our successes. We invite you to join us.

Recent diagnosis (16 year old w UC and Crohn's) + question on MRI scan

Hey there! I'm really new to this, so I guess it would be best to start with an introduction? My name's Jess, and I've recently been diagnosed with both forms of IBD, so I've have Crohn's and also UC, and I'm 16!

I've been reading everyones stories on here, and it really is such a relief to know that a lot of people feel the same way I do.

However, although I've had multiple colonoscopies, and endoscopies, I've never had an MRI scan, so I was just wondering what is it like? And what to expect? Because there is a chance they want to remove part of my colon, as I'm having a very bad flare up at the moment and the steroids and azathioprine aren't working.

Thank you very much!

Hi Jess!
Welcome to the forum! Sorry to hear of the trouble you are having getting this flare under control. Have your doctors suggested biologics? It sounds like that might be a useful next step since pred and aza aren't working well enough.

I've had a lot of small bowel MRIs. Mainly it's a little bit boring - you have to lie still for at least half an hour in the scanner, following instructions for breath holds. It's a little bit noisy (various different beepings from the scanner) but you have headphones and a button to press if you need to talk to someone or want someone to come in to see you.

The biggest issue people can have is claustrophobia - but usually only if they have such issues already. It's not a big space inside the scanner but it's not uncomfortable for most and you can close your eyes and have a bit of a rest - other than the noises and breathing instructions!