• Welcome to Crohn's Forum, a support group for people with all forms of IBD. While this community is not a substitute for doctor's advice and we cannot treat or diagnose, we find being able to communicate with others who have IBD is invaluable as we navigate our struggles and celebrate our successes. We invite you to join us.

Recently diagnosed & in need of support

Hi all,

This is my first time on any type of online forum, and definitely my first time openly talking about Crohns on an online platform. But I feel as though I have no other way to talk to anyone about my diagnosis..

After months of horrible abdominal pain, and several week long fevers, I went and saw my GP. My diagnosis wasn't as drawn out and tiresome as I have read many others had it. After my GP visit, I got a CT scan showing inflammation in terminal ileum & small bowel loops, then I had a colonoscopy where my biopsy showed chronic inflammation in my terminal ileum, and then I was diagnosed. I have been on prednisone for nearly a month, when I tried to taper my symptoms came back. So now I am back on 30g a day. I am now starting 6MP and the risks have me terrified. I cried as the doctor explained the increased cancer risks. I just keep thinking to myself.. I don't wanna die... it may seem dramatic, but that is all I keep thinking about- Will I be able to live a normal life?

I guess what I am having such a hard time with is the fact that my whole life I have been a relatively healthy person. I have asthma- but other than that I never get colds, flu, etc. Then BAM at 23 I get diagnosed with a chronic disease out of NO WHERE. Plus- it doesn't run in my family and I feel as though my family is not understanding how I feel or is in denial about my disease. Everyone has been sympathetic, but no one can really understand how I feel. I will have days I feel great, and days that I feel like absolute garbage..:sign0085: