• Welcome to Crohn's Forum, a support group for people with all forms of IBD. While this community is not a substitute for doctor's advice and we cannot treat or diagnose, we find being able to communicate with others who have IBD is invaluable as we navigate our struggles and celebrate our successes. We invite you to join us.

Safe candies / snacks with ostomy?

I recently underwent a resection surgery and now have a temp ileostomy.
Still getting used to it and trying to keep my diet in check to not cause any blockages or start up a flare with the crohns.

I have a pretty bad sweet tooth unfortunately

Are there any candies that I should stay away from? i know all of them is probably the best answer but yea :lol:

Also wondering what others with ostomy / crohns have for snacks that don't seem to bother them

nogutsnoglory

I am new to having an ileostomy too but don't see anything about candy being a problem. I read gum can cause gas because you get pockets of air as you chew. I have been eating chips and candy.

Thanks, I was just figuring gummy candies (skittles, starburst, gummy bears stuff like that) might not break down if not chewed good enough?

annawato

Staff member
I think all should be fine. I think the main thing is to start by eating just one or two and see what happens. If they come out whole in the bag then avoid them just in case but I think as most sweets are mainly sugar they will probably dissolve before then or would before they caused a problem. I find most stuff goes thru me pretty quickly and I've yet to see a sweet come out the other end, but I wasn't prone to blockages before either.