• Welcome to Crohn's Forum, a support group for people with all forms of IBD. While this community is not a substitute for doctor's advice and we cannot treat or diagnose, we find being able to communicate with others who have IBD is invaluable as we navigate our struggles and celebrate our successes. We invite you to join us.

Saying Hi from Korea

Hi, my name is Herim and I am 24 years old. I am Korean and I currently reside in Seoul, South Korea.

I was diagnosed with ulcerative colitis in 2008 when I was a senior in high school. My parents and I thought I wouldn't be able to go to college with my conditions. However, I graduated undergrad in 4 years and I am now in graduate school studying English Education.

I've been living with UC for almost 6 years now. At first, I went to the ER a lot and I've been hospitalized about 3 times within 2 years. I was really depressed at first because I felt like my life was taken away. While my friends were out having fun I was at the hospital or at home. I didn't even feel motivated to try to get healthier. I felt like there was no hope for me. As time passed by I learned to live with UC. But from time to time, I still get really depressed when I think of the limitations I face because of UC.

At times, I feel like nobody understand me and I feel like I'm on a deserted island all by myself. My family is very supportive but sometimes even they don't understand me. I recently found this forum and I've read some of the experiences other people have had. I'm really glad I found this forum. Now I don't really feel like I'm alone anymore.

I tried a lot of medication like immunosuppressant( I think that's what they are called) and steroids. Most of the medication didn't work and my doctor suggested I get remicade infusion. I started using remicade in early 2013. It has been working great for me. I also take 3 pills of asacol per meal. So far, my health is at its best.