• Welcome to Crohn's Forum, a support group for people with all forms of IBD. While this community is not a substitute for doctor's advice and we cannot treat or diagnose, we find being able to communicate with others who have IBD is invaluable as we navigate our struggles and celebrate our successes. We invite you to join us.

Severe adominal pain daily

I have crohns. I've had it for 3yrs I'm 53 t
yrs old. Its the worst thing I've ever dealt with. I had 19 inches removed a year ago. It was terrible recovery. I am unable to work. Which has really debilitated my lifestyle. Being a chef by trade doesn't make it easier.I have a lot of flare ups. I've tried so many ways to find balance but no luck. I'm beginning to question my doctor. Any advise?

Trysha

Staff member
Hi Sherrie
Welcome to the forum.
There is plenty of information to be found here and you will find many friends to help you.
I am much older than you and would agree that crohn's is a difficult condition to treat and to endure.It has been six years since my diagnosis of Crohn's.
Every night I have abdominal pain which at times is unbearable. My GI does not give pain medication nor antispasmodics---says they don't work.He also says some of my pain is IBS.He is very conscious of my age and I am afraid he might drop me as a patient because of it.
He has given me steroid treatments, Imuran which had to be discontinued due to adverse reaction and Remicade which was discontinued after the third infusion due to reactions. Currently I have no treatment, just clinic visits as he decides.
Daytime I cope since the pain seems less, mostly.
I manage the pain with heating pads , hot water bottles and spit , perseverance and endurance.,having a high pain threshold. Sometimes I wonder how long I will manage, it can be very depressing if you allow it to be.
I have found meditation helpful and really feel better after a therapeutic touch session.
Occasionally I have to take tylenol, which helps the pain for me.