• Welcome to Crohn's Forum, a support group for people with all forms of IBD. While this community is not a substitute for doctor's advice and we cannot treat or diagnose, we find being able to communicate with others who have IBD is invaluable as we navigate our struggles and celebrate our successes. We invite you to join us.

Should I get a second opinion from a new doctor?

Hey everyone! This is my first time visiting this site and I thought now would be a great opportunity to share my story. On October 5th, 2012 I had my appendix removed. I started experiencing vomiting the night of October 2nd but thought nothing of it since I felt fine the next morning (oct 3rd). I am in grade 12 so I went to school that day with no problems. That night I woke up with sharp pains all over my body and more vomiting. I decided it was time to visit the doctor. He pressed on my stomach and I experienced the rebound pain which is very common. He sent me for a blood test and called me that night saying my white blood cell count was high. I went to the hospital and was there from about 830 pm and finally saw a surgeon around 1030. He said it was my appendix since I was also fevered at the time. They decided to just do the surgery the next morning as it was getting so late. After my surgery the surgeon told me that my appendix looked fine but that I had some terminal thickening on my small intestines. She told me it could be crohns but sent the appendix to the lab. About 3 weeks later the results came back with my appendix being normal. On December 17th I had a small bowel follow through with the barium and the X-rays. The lab had been closed for a while which is why the time in between. Today I went to the surgeons office to get my results. She said everything came back good accordingb to the X-ray. The thing is, I have experienced crohns symptoms for years now. I always put them off to being lactose as I wasn't able to drink milk as a baby. When she mentioned crohns, I looked up the