• Welcome to Crohn's Forum, a support group for people with all forms of IBD. While this community is not a substitute for doctor's advice and we cannot treat or diagnose, we find being able to communicate with others who have IBD is invaluable as we navigate our struggles and celebrate our successes. We invite you to join us.

So desperate...Please help! Offer any suggestions!!

SOFT FOOD DIET HELP!!!!

I am really desperate to find some way to calm down my bowel spasms I am having from my stricture. I have this pesky stricture in the area where my ileum was (which I had removed 7-8 years ago.) I've been on Remicade and Humira and nothing has seemed to help, and I've been flaring since March. Now my inflammation level isn't hugely elevated, but it's scar tissue in that area that is giving me a huge problem. I am a sophomore in college, so I have to wait until summer break, and then I'll be getting this area removed.

Here are my symptoms:
Pretty sharp pain in that area from time to time. I get really really constipated because waste has a hard time getting through that area. I'll go 4-5 days even up to a week without having a BM, and when I do it's extremely painful, and in the days leading up to it my abdomen gets so bloated that I could pass for a 5-month pregnant woman. But, my most BOTHERSOME symptom right now, are the nearly constant spasms I get in that specific area. And by spasms I mean TERRIBLE, angry "digestion" noises, that are extremely loud and just plain unhealthy sounding. This is giving me very severe anxiety, because I'm a full time student and it's so difficult to attend classes and take exams when I'm in a quiet room, because without any notice, my stomach will start making these terrible sounds, and people just don't understand what it is. Frankly, it's extremely embarrassing. Even around my family and closest friends I get embarrassed by these sounds, let alone a huge silent room full of strangers my age.