• Welcome to Crohn's Forum, a support group for people with all forms of IBD. While this community is not a substitute for doctor's advice and we cannot treat or diagnose, we find being able to communicate with others who have IBD is invaluable as we navigate our struggles and celebrate our successes. We invite you to join us.

Social Security Disability

Hi all,

I live in the United States and have already gone down to working 24 hrs a week due to fatigue issues. I am a Physical Therapist Assistant, and have a fairly physical job. I guess my question is, has anyone went on Social Security Disability either fully or partially? How did they go about it? How do you know when it is time? I just need some input.

Kit:emot-sax:

I also live in the US as well. I just went online and filed for SSI. Although, it took months to hear anything back from them and then to get the horrible news... I was denied. I have since starting working as daycare teacher. Your job is way more demanding, I'm sure of that. I would suggest finding some info online, on how to apply in your area. It's alot of paperwork to go through...and don't be discouraged if you are denied the first time. I have heard many stories where it takes 2 or 3 times filling to get approved.

Good Luck! Hope I was some help. :)