• Welcome to Crohn's Forum, a support group for people with all forms of IBD. While this community is not a substitute for doctor's advice and we cannot treat or diagnose, we find being able to communicate with others who have IBD is invaluable as we navigate our struggles and celebrate our successes. We invite you to join us.

Soy?

Hi all,
I am new to all this and I am trying to implement diet changes STAT. I am lactose intolerant, so before my Crohn's Dx I was buying lactose free ice cream and milk. Now, I am trying to go non-dairy, not just non-lactose. I have found I am now eating a lot of soy (soy milk on cereal, soy ice cream, soy yogurt). Anyone know if soy is safe for Crohn's or does it cause flare ups? I sure hope not or I am totally at a loss for what to eat from here. Thanks!

I've also recently gone non-dairy, and I've been switching it up a bit so that I'm not eating all soy products -- mostly because there are so many other delicious things out there! I haven't found much about soy and Crohn's, but I do know that soy contains isoflavones which mimic estrogen in the body. There was some evidence that women who are at high risk for breast cancer should avoid soy, but according to wikipedia the evidence is now mixed.

If you want to switch it up, so far I've discovered almond milk (the Trader Joe's vanilla unsweetened that's in the dairy case is delicious!) and also yogurt and ice cream made from coconut milk.

I hope Boston is treating you well! I grew up in the burbs and miss it quite a bit :)

David

Co-Founder
I'm not a fan of soy since the vast majority is GMO and chock full of all kinds of systemic pesticides and other poisons. Organic soy? If you don't correlate any issues, then MAYBE. The only study I could find did showcase that antigens to soy have been found in people with Crohn's Disease and other forms of colitis so take that as you will.