• Welcome to Crohn's Forum, a support group for people with all forms of IBD. While this community is not a substitute for doctor's advice and we cannot treat or diagnose, we find being able to communicate with others who have IBD is invaluable as we navigate our struggles and celebrate our successes. We invite you to join us.

Stricture in the terminal ileum surgery question

Hi everyone,
Well after an exciting week in the hospital for an obstruction in my terminal ileum last week, my GI has concluded that I have a "cold" stricture that needs removing. He is looking at having 10-14 cm of my small intestine removed. This was decided late today, so I have not met the surgeon yet. Has anyone had this type of surgery(mine will be in Toronto, Canada).

How long before they perform surgery based on a decision?

How long will I be in the hospital approximately?

How long will I need to recover afterward? (I am a Childcare teacher and my job often requires me to lift 40+ lbs)

Thanks for any advice you can give me!

nogutsnoglory

Sorry for your bad news. What's a "cold" stricture? Meaning scar tissue and not inflammation?

I had this type of surgery and was operated on in a matter of days due to the pseudo emergency status of my partial but serious obstruction. I was in the hospital for 5 days and was forbidden to lift over 10 pounds for 6-8 weeks. This was also the timeframe given for recuperation from surgery. The length of your stay depends on whether you have laparoscopic or open surgery and if there are any complications. You definitely to plan to be off of work and not do any lifting.

My GI said a "cold stricture" is when there is no inflammation present. They refer to them as "hot" when there is inflamation present at the stricture sight. My stricture is next to my lumen, and causing swelling. He feels that if I don't remove it, I will have repeated bowel obstructions.

Crohns Gal.