• Welcome to Crohn's Forum, a support group for people with all forms of IBD. While this community is not a substitute for doctor's advice and we cannot treat or diagnose, we find being able to communicate with others who have IBD is invaluable as we navigate our struggles and celebrate our successes. We invite you to join us.

Sulfasalazine?

Anyone have any experience with Sulfasalazine? I've been on asacol and pretty much every other mesalamine there is. Pentasa and lialda worked for me for 2 years and now I've been battling this last flare for on and off for the last 2 years.

So I am wondering if any one of you had good results from sulfasalazine? My symptoms have worsened and I have inflammation clear to my splenic flexure.

Any info is greatly appreciated! :) thanks all!!

Cross-stitch gal

Staff member
I've been on Sulfasalazine, Asacol & Pentasa. Sulfasalazine was the first medication I was put on when I was diagnosed in '96. I was on that medication for a few years until it stopped working for me. But, while I was on it this medication did seem to work pretty well for me.

All three of these medications are part of the 5ASA drugs. I am adding some info for you as well. But, usually these are the types of medications that are less potent and ones that doctors usually prescribe when you're first diagnosed. Hope this helps some. Xxxx

http://www.ccfa.org/resources/aminosalicylates.html