• Welcome to Crohn's Forum, a support group for people with all forms of IBD. While this community is not a substitute for doctor's advice and we cannot treat or diagnose, we find being able to communicate with others who have IBD is invaluable as we navigate our struggles and celebrate our successes. We invite you to join us.

Terrible Trifecta

Hey ya'll,

I just joined this forum and wanted to share my story.

I'm 23 years old and was diagnosed with Crohn's when I was 11. I had some tough flareups during middle school, but was mostly symptom-free all through high school. After I graduated, I naively decided to stop taking my meds because I felt like my Crohn's had been "cured". Bad mistake.

When I was traveling in Mexico during the spring after graduation, I was eating tons of street vendor food in Mexico City (which was delicious) and became violently ill. My Crohn's symptoms came back and have been around since. I have had daily diarrhea ever since: 4 1/2 years now.

I went back to my old doctor, but no medication worked. I mean NOTHING. Not even prednisone. I hopped from doctor to doctor and medication to medication for years until deciding to see a naturopathic doctor about 9 months ago. The ND had me do a special stool test and it turns out that I have an intestinal parasite (strongyloides) as well as candida overgrowth and Crohn's. The terrible trifecta.

Has anyone experienced something like this? It's feels extremely daunting, but at the same time hopeful now that I have a better idea of what is going on in my body. I started taking LDN a month ago and am starting a candida cleanse soon. I'll also start taking probiotics and possibly pentasa soon. I'd love to avoid any medication that kills off good bacteria in my gut. And of course I'd love to avoid surgery. I've been extremely fatigued and irritable for months, and have lost 20 pounds (not a good thing: I'm skin and bones as it is). So far I've seen no change in symptoms on LDN, but I'm hopeful.