• Welcome to Crohn's Forum, a support group for people with all forms of IBD. While this community is not a substitute for doctor's advice and we cannot treat or diagnose, we find being able to communicate with others who have IBD is invaluable as we navigate our struggles and celebrate our successes. We invite you to join us.

Thinking about filing for disability - questions

So I'm thinking about filing for disability. I'm so frustrated with not being able to work much that I think this might have to be what I have to do, even though I'd much rather stay working.
Here's a little bit about what I've been going through lately (I'll try to keep it short):
I got diagnosed with Crohn's in December 2013. Since then I've had 4 hospital stays (a total of about 15 days). Besides the hospital stays I've missed numerous days of work because of the Crohn's and also my Bipolar Disorder. I am a nurse and work full time (although I haven't worked a 40 hour week for months now). I get insurance through my job, but it stinks!!! Right now I'm not on any medication for the Crohn's except Prednisone (been on it since December) because insurance won't pay for anything, or because it doesn't cover medications good enough that I can't afford to pay $350 or more a month for one medication. Thanks to the Prednisone I have also now been diagnosed with Diabetes Type 2 and Hypertension. Also, because I'm not absorbing things well, my bipolar medication is not working either and I'm having problems with it. My psychiatrist wants to put me on injections for my bipolar, but again, I can't afford them, even with my insurance. So right now I'm a mess. I am in horrible pain most of the time, having D daily, fevers daily, and now horrible mood swings and depression because of not having any medication that works for my bipolar. I'm about at the end of my rope. I have 4 children at home and I can't just not have an income. I have thought about filing for disability and I've had many people tell me t