• Welcome to Crohn's Forum, a support group for people with all forms of IBD. While this community is not a substitute for doctor's advice and we cannot treat or diagnose, we find being able to communicate with others who have IBD is invaluable as we navigate our struggles and celebrate our successes. We invite you to join us.

Vaccines causing increase in IBD?

Hi all
I have a hunch about the increase in IBM in children and I want to get some input from others suffering from this disease. Before I tell my story I want to say I am a registered nurse and my first daughter is fully vaccinated...my second daughter had gi issues from birth..she had colic and silent reflux. She was breastfed and had normal bf poop. The day after her two month vaccination her poop turned bright green and her bowl movements were never the same again...her poop was mucousy and a greenish color. She was diagnosed with allergic colitis by the paediatrician. He said it was from the vaccine but said I should continue giving the vaccines...and "watch her like a hawk". I said but what if she gets ulcerative colitis from more vaccines and you know what he told me...then I could "blame" him and he would get her seen in Dublin quickly...
I have not continued with the vaccines and her poop is now normal...I gave probiotics and breastfed for 20 months...I am wondering if any other parents noticed a change in bowel habits after their children's vaccines?
Thanks in advance
Jeni

I was diagnosed after I turned 18. Normal and healthy until then, got all my vaccines. I don't believe there is a connection.

I don't know if I would jump to IBD being diagnosed with colitis. Stomach flu & IBS cause colitis. Syndrome is far from disease. I hope your kid stays on the syndrome side of things. Having a young one that is sick can be scary.