• Welcome to Crohn's Forum, a support group for people with all forms of IBD. While this community is not a substitute for doctor's advice and we cannot treat or diagnose, we find being able to communicate with others who have IBD is invaluable as we navigate our struggles and celebrate our successes. We invite you to join us.

Weirdest case of Crohn's every?

Hello!
I am a newbie here and wanted to share my story. It is sort of odd and thought I might get some insight from you knowledgable folks.

So it all started a few months ago when I started having a lot of bleeding with bowel movements. This went on for a few days and then I started running a fever and had flu-like symptoms. At that point, it was Saturday of course, I went into the ER. The Dr. did an exam and looked externally and didn't see anything so he prescribed me some painkillers and gave me a reference to a GI. Well the Vicodin helped the fever and flu-like issues but the bleeding was still happening off and on. I made an appoint with the GI, but it was a month out. So I muddled through.

At my GI appointment, he took my history and whatnot and then looked at at my rectum and saw that I had a hemorrhoid. He thought that was my problem and the cause of my bleeding. He gave me some tips and had me come back in a month to see his CNP. I did what he said, more fiber, ect. It didn't help. I still had pain from the hemorrhoid and bleeding off and on. The CNP gave me hydrocortisone suppositories but they didn't do much either. So the next step was a colonoscopy. At this point I really didn't think anything serious was going on and the colonoscopy would be clear.