• Welcome to Crohn's Forum, a support group for people with all forms of IBD. While this community is not a substitute for doctor's advice and we cannot treat or diagnose, we find being able to communicate with others who have IBD is invaluable as we navigate our struggles and celebrate our successes. We invite you to join us.

What would you tell your doctor or nurse?

Hello Everyone!!! I haven't been on here in a very long time, and I have missed it! I am back and looking for your help. Soon, I will be giving a short talk to a group of health care professionals (mostly nurses but also some docs) about what it was like to be a patient and what it's like to live with crohn's. I work as a nurse and having to be on the other side of the bed as a sick patient was eye opening to me. What I wanna know is.......

What is it that you think is important for your health care professional to know about living with crohn's??

This doesn't have to be something medical or some sort of fact it could just be something from a patient's perspective that a person without crohns' or uc wouldnt know or understand????

Hi,

I would suggest that they need to keep an open mind about the patient's symptoms and experiences. Every patient is different. There is nothing worse than being told that a particular pain or symptom can't be due to the Crohn's or the treatment. The most experienced Doctors that I've met acknowledge that the patient's body is very good at telling them something is going on. The fact that it may not fit with their understanding does not mean to say that it's not real.

Mark

Great answer Mark. I think doctors tend to take a textbook approach to treating patients and that's what makes treating this disease so hard. Also, I think it's important for them to try and understand the mental impact this disease has on people. They need to try and put themselves in the patient's shoes. How would they handle it if these things were happening to them?