• Welcome to Crohn's Forum, a support group for people with all forms of IBD. While this community is not a substitute for doctor's advice and we cannot treat or diagnose, we find being able to communicate with others who have IBD is invaluable as we navigate our struggles and celebrate our successes. We invite you to join us.

Will I ever live a normal life?

I was diagnosed with Crohn's disease in 2011. I was a sophomore in college. I am now 22 years old and have had cdiff 4 times in the last 16 months. If I'm not battling the cdiff I am battling my Crohn's disease. I was forced to take a medical withdrawal from college when my disease was not under control. In my last cdiff episode I was hospitalized 3 times and was very close to having a fecal transplant. Has anyone had this before? The reason I have joined this website though is because I would love to find other people who are battling both cdiff and Crohn's. Yesterday I went for my 7th Remicade treatment. At about an hour in I started sweating, then wheezing. The next thing I knew I stopped breathing, my throat shut, my entire body turned blood red and my blood pressure a plummeted. The nurse yelled "code blue and were losing her" I have never had such a traumatic and deathly experience before in my entire life. I thought I was going to die. Luckily they found someone who could help me and the ambulance arrived and I'm okay. Sometimes I feel there is just no hope for me because I can never catch a break. If I'm not battling my worst episode of cdiff im about to die from my Crohn's treatment. Has anyone had a reaction like this after 7 infusions?

Hi
I am so sorry to hear of your experience. Unfortunatly I have no experience of your medication or C Diff but I just wanted to send support your way.

my little penguin

Staff member
DS had a reaction to remicade after 8 infusions
He is now on humira and has been for almost two years.

Hope things improve soon

Robertsba92,