• Welcome to Crohn's Forum, a support group for people with all forms of IBD. While this community is not a substitute for doctor's advice and we cannot treat or diagnose, we find being able to communicate with others who have IBD is invaluable as we navigate our struggles and celebrate our successes. We invite you to join us.

Worried about taking azathioprine.

Hi, This is my first time on here.
I am 42 years old and was diagnosed with Crohn's in 2009. I have found that I am unable to take Mesalazine due to it worsening my symptoms.
I am never without symptoms but am managing ok by taking budesonide when the symptoms get too bad. My consultant wants me to take Azathioprine but the list of side effects has me worried!
To be honest I don't know what to do. I have never been as ill as I was when I was first diagnosed and read that you can only take azathioprine for 5 years. Aside from the list of side effects what happens in 5 years if my condition worsens?
I would much appreciate your thoughts as I have been burying my head in the sand for the past 5 years.
Kind regards.

valleysangel92

Staff member
Hello there
First off, welcome to the forum :) I'm glad you found off

Where did you hear that you can only take Aza for 5 years? There are lots of people here that have taken Aza for much longer than that without issues.

Yes the side effects cab be scary, but the results of undertreated crohns are far worse. If you leave crohns untreated you can develop really serious complications including a perforation.

If you are constantly getting symptoms you NEED to be treating it, not just when it gets worse but all the time. Steroids like buedesonide can have just as many side effects as the long term treatments, infact, steroids are more dangerous when used more than necessary.

Thanks for your reply. I read about it "on-line".